morning flame

The past week I’ve been contemplating this passage in scripture;

I will sing to the Lord as long as I live;

I will sing praise to my God while I have being.

May my meditation be pleasing to him,

for I rejoice in the Lord.

Psalm 104:33-35

After some thought, I moved away from my personal expectations of how little I sing and am thankful to God and moved into the promise that the psalmist speaks of. It’s become less about needing to do all the things I deem valuable which will please the Lord and more about accepting that the heart he’s placed in me is entirely capable of turning and responding to God. Therefore, a life built on this intimacy with God will more naturally bring about action and works that will please the Lord.

Our faith, then, is less based on what we think we ought to do and more a response on who we know God to be and how we comprehend his unfailing love and mercy to us.

God has promised us the Holy Spirit which counsels and protects and helps us understand and apply his Word to any and every situation and life circumstance. Like the psalmist, we too can have such faith (“I will sing, I will sing“), that in all things that come our way, in all that God has given, with all the mysteries of the world, our response can be to turn to God in thanksgiving, rejoice and thoughtful meditation and understanding.

So even if I am not singing praises to God every hour of the day (though if I had this gift, I would), I know that my mind and heart are not far from His because quite simply, my heart will ache and long to return to the one who gives me true life, a life called to His Spirit.

Leave a Reply

