Choc and Cranberry Surprise Cookies

Next time I feel a little down on life, in need of a boost, or that staying in on a rainy day and watching a movie is a good idea, THESE AMAZING CREATIONS will be on the menu.

Simply the most divine chocolate cookies I’ve eaten. Being baked with the finest quality and my most favourite of ingredients, these are really just perfect. The whole process of preparing, baking and eating them has brought me much surprise and joy in my heart. Hence, their name.

It was so random how I ended up making them! I suppose chocolate was on my mind after speaking to my friend, Pete on the phone to organise the practicalities of making his 21st birthday cake. I was getting excited I began to research some good chocolate mud cake recipes online. But I got distracted and went onto my friend’s blog and began to reflect on the small joys of life because she recently gave birth to a small baby boy! I remembered she had posted an amazing choc cookie recipe AGES ago and I had an amazing idea. I thought: if I could replace the butter with organic cocoa and coconut butter (that I bought from one of my favourite food co-operatives in Newtown called Alfalfa House) it could be even BETTER and TASTIER than dairy butter (and simply because I’m always looking for healthier options than butter in my baking). I was proved correct!!!

So here is my personalized recipe that was inspired from this one, with added health, delight and joy. They are soft and chewy on the inside with great chunks of almonds and dried fruit, whilst having a crisp and firm outside.

Makes a small batch of delicious cookies to share.

INGREDIENTS

115 g old gold dark chocolate, half melted and half chopped into bite-sized pieces
1/2 cup plain flour
1/4 cup organic spelt wholemeal flour
50g organic cocoa and coconut butter
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp sea salt, crushed
120g organic cane sugar
1 egg
100g mix of roasted almonds, crystallized candied ginger and dried cranberries

METHOD

melting chocolate: Boil some water in a kettle and pour boiling water in a medium-sized saucepan. Place a large stainless steel metal bowl over the top and place half of the chocolate in it. Let it soften over simmering water for 15 minutes or until it’s melted. Keep warm.

making the mixture: Soften the cocoa and coconut butter in the microwave for 10 seconds. In a large mixing bowl, hand whisk the softened butter and sugar until combined. Add the egg and give it a strong whisk until the chocolate mixture is smooth and a thick consistency. Slowly add the two flours, baking soda and salt to the mixture as you quickly stir to combine. Add the dry ingredients in two batches so that it is well combined with the chocolate mixture. Chop the almonds and ginger. Pour in the melted chocolate, dried cranberries and chopped almonds and ginger. Give it a good strong stir.

preparing the cookie batter: start by preheating the oven to 165°C. Wet your hands, measure two tablespoons of the batter and roll it into a ball. Place on a cooking tray lined with baking paper about half an inch apart from the others. Repeat until all the batter runs out. Wet a fork and press down on the balls so they expand a little more in size. Place the tray in the freezer for 15 minutes or until they have hardened.

baking the cookies: Take the tray out of the freezer and bake the cookies at 165°C for 20 minutes or until they have cracked on the top and are a little firm to touch…and when the kitchen is fragrant with chocolate! Let them cool and eat.

Enjoy one or two by themselves or with a glass of milk or tea.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

