Christmas Table

When I was at my friend’s engagement party a few years ago, I had this delighful experience with an apricot and coconut truffle. But I thought – this could be even better with good quality dates…

So finally this Christmas I came around to doing something with that idea. I wanted to make some date and chocolate truffles. And I went mad – I made them on three different occasions! The first were rolled in cocoa but my family found that they were too strong and a bit suffocating when the cocoa gets stuck in the throat. The second I added more dates to the mix and they were much more softer and I coated some in melted chocolate and some in coconut.
Finally the third time round I decided to add some liquer to the mix and coat them in crushed roasted almonds and coconut.

Bliss! I’m happy they made their way to the Christmas lunch table (see below) because it is hard to put dessert next to my aunty’s whose perfected her sweets for years and years. She enjoyed them, hurrah! I ammended the recipe from journey kitchen here

Truffles at our Christmas table with triffle, coffee flavoured Amoretti biscotti, fresh fruit salad and natural yoghurt.

Makes 30 truffles.

INGREDIENTS

750g quality dates
A good few TBsp’s of olive oil
1 tsp cinnamon, grounded
2 TBsp cocoa powder
1/2 tsp ginger, grounded
A few TBsp’s of liquer (of you choice)

For dusting

roasted and crushed almonds
dessicated coconut

METHOD

preparing mixture: In a small-medium saucepan, heat the oil and add the dates. Stir well. Continue cooking until the dates are very sticky. Add some water in if you find it is sticking. Remove from the stove and add the spices and cocoa powder. Stir well till they have combined with the mixture. Let it cool for 5 minutes.

making the balls: Once it has cooled, use your hands to remove the date seeds. Then, measure a TBsp of mixture and shape with your hands. Lay on a lined baking sheet and place in the fridge for 30 minutes to harden.

rolling the balls: Once they’re firm enough, roll some in the almonds and some in the coconut.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

